Welcome to Decatur County, Georgia

Located in Southwest Georgia, Decatur County is home to about 28,000 citizens and is within easy driving distance of four major cities: Dothan, Alabama; Albany and Thomasville, Georgia; and the Capital of Florida, Tallahassee. Decatur County is governed by an elected six-member Board of Commissioners.  Decatur County has an abundance of recreational activities, indoors and outdoors, for all ages. There is plenty to do in Bainbridge and Decatur County to keep you and your family busy throughout the year. Whether you like attending festivals, enjoying nature, enjoying the arts, listening to live music, playing sports, or outdoor activities, there is enough to fill up just about every weekend of the year.

Decatur County Board of County Commissioners. From the left, front row, are Commissioner Greg Murray, Chairman Pete Stephens and Vice Chairman Dennis Brinson; back row, Commissioners George Anderson, Rusty Davis and Steve Brock.

Pictured is the 2017 Board of Commissioners, from left, front row, Greg Murray, Chairman Pete Stephens and Vice Chairman Dennis Brinson; back row, George Anderson, Rusty Davis and Steve Brock.

Commissioners’ Contact Information

Administrative Staff Contact Information

Decatur County Commission map-2012

Decatur County Board of Commissioners
P.O. Box 726
Bainbridge, GA  39818
For more county information, go to Georgia Department of Community Affairs’ Decatur County demographics or University of Georgia Decatur County facts, or Decatur County.georgia.gov. Click on Southwest GA for events.
Bainbridge is the county seat. Mayor Edward Reynolds or City Manager Chris Hobby (229) 248-2000. Contact the local Chamber of Commerce or the Bainbridge Convention & Visitor’s Bureau for information about upcoming city events, or visit City of Bainbridge


Other Municipalities in Decatur County Include:
Attapulgus – Mayor Johnny Medley: (229) 465-3322
Brinson – Mayor James Earp : (229) 248-1752
Climax – Mayor Charles Hadsock: (229) 246-0467